Life Style

Choghadiya: An Ancient Guide

In the vast tapestry of Indian culture, rituals, and traditions, Choghadiya holds a unique place as an ancient method for selecting auspicious times. Derived from Sanskrit, “Choghadiya” is a combination of two words, “Chogha” meaning ‘four’ and “Diya” meaning ‘time intervals’. It is a traditional timekeeping system used primarily in Hindu astrology to determine favorable periods for various activities. This article delves into the significance of Choghadiya, its calculations, and how it continues to be a guiding force in modern times.

1. The Concept of Choghadiya

Choghadiya is a timekeeping system that divides the day and night into eight equal parts, each lasting approximately one and a half hours. Each of these intervals is associated with a specific planetary ruler, and their influence is believed to affect the outcome of various undertakings.

2. The Eight Choghadiya Time Periods

The eight Choghadiya time periods are:

Amrit Choghadiya: This period is considered highly auspicious and favorable for essential tasks and activities. It is associated with the Moon and is ideal for spiritual pursuits.

Kaal Choghadiya: The Kaal period is considered inauspicious and should be avoided for commencing significant events. It is associated with Saturn and may bring unfavorable outcomes.

Labh Choghadiya: This period is associated with Jupiter and is considered favorable for financial matters, business ventures, and investments.

Shubh Choghadiya: Associated with Venus, the Shubh period is auspicious for artistic pursuits, love, and relationship-related activities.

Rog Choghadiya: The Rog period is associated with Mercury and is considered inauspicious for health-related matters. Medical procedures should be avoided during this time.

Udveg Choghadiya: This period, associated with Mars, is considered unfavorable for important decisions and starting new ventures.

Char Choghadiya: The Char period is associated with the Sun and is considered favorable for activities related to power, authority, and government-related matters.

Chal Choghadiya: This period, associated with Rahu, is considered inauspicious and should be avoided for any significant activities.

3. Calculating Choghadiya

The Choghadiya system is calculated based on the time of sunrise and sunset for a particular location. The daytime is divided into eight parts, and the same is done for the nighttime, resulting in the eight Choghadiya periods.

4. Significance of Choghadiya

Choghadiya plays a crucial role in the lives of millions of Hindus. It is consulted before starting important tasks such as weddings, business ventures, property purchases, or even daily activities like journeys and meetings. By choosing an auspicious Choghadiya, individuals seek to enhance the chances of success and minimize potential obstacles.

5. Choghadiya and Astrology

Choghadiya is closely related to Hindu astrology and is often used in conjunction with other astrological practices. Astrologers analyze the positions of planets and their influence on Choghadiya periods to provide more accurate guidance.

6. Modern Interpretations and Adaptations

With the advent of technology, Choghadiya is now readily available online and through mobile applications. Many people, even those residing outside India, use these digital platforms to access the Choghadiya and make informed decisions for their important life events.


Choghadiya stands as a living testament to the ancient wisdom of Indian astrological practices. Its enduring popularity lies in its practicality and simplicity. By utilizing Choghadiya to select auspicious timings, individuals seek to align their actions with celestial energies and pave the way for a prosperous and successful life.


This website is big source of knowledge. Here. you will find all the knowledge of the world. This website is one of the best site on the internet

Related Articles

Back to top button